Friday, July 2, 2010

Halal and Haram in Quran

“O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you, and render thanks to Allah if it is (indeed) He whom ye worship” (Qur’an 2:172)

Halal is an Arabic word used many times in Quran, which means Permitted or Acceptable according to an Islamic law. It’s the opposite of Haram which means Prohibited or Unacceptable according to an Islamic law. In Quran Allah commands us not to eat any Haram foods and only to eat Halal foods; it’s mandatory.

“They ask thee (O Muhammad) what is made lawful for them. Say: (all) good things are made lawful for you. And those beasts and birds of prey which ye have trained as hounds are trained, ye teach them that which Allah taught you; so eat of that which they catch for you and mention Allah's name upon it, and observe your duty to Allah. Lo! Allah is swift to take account” (Qur’an 5:4)

Even though cows, sheep’s, goats etc are Halal but in Quran Allah tells us that these animals should be slaughtered in the name of Allah before eating them.

“And eat not of that whereon Allah's name hath not been mentioned, for lo! it is abomination. Lo! The devils do inspire their minions to dispute with you. But if ye obey them, ye will be in truth idolaters” (Qur’an 6:121)

The following is a list of some of the Halal products according to the teachings of miraculous Quran:

• Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats)
• Honey
• Fish
• Plants which are not toxic
• Vegetables and fruits
• Dry fruits and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts etc.
• Grains like wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc.

Some of the Haram products:

• Meat from pig - pork, ham, bacon, etc
• Pork-based products - sausages etc.
• Animals improperly slaughtered or already dead before slaughtering
• Animals slaughtered someone else other than Allah
• Birds of prey and animals without external ears (i.e., snakes, reptiles, worms, insects etc.)
• Blood, foods made with the help of any of the above products.